Germany's fish fair 4 - 6 September 2022


Instead of February as usual, fish international will take place this year from 4-6 September 2022.

Around 303 exhibitors from 29 nations presented their products in the areas of fish production and processing, fresh fish and delicacies, as well as research and development in February 2020. More than 10,000 visitors from fisheries management, retail and catering took the opportunity for information, networking and exchange.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
High-tech at the point of sale

High-tech at the point of sale

Valentina and Constantin Kuchler develop precision cutting equipment
The fact that the love of sushi has now spread around the world is proven not least by the fact that a company on the edge of the Alps is working on the perfect machine cutting of salmon slices for nigiri sushi. Valentina Kuchler and her brother Constantin have developed a device in their company S.A.M. Kuchler Electronics GmbH that works at least as precisely as Japanese nigiri chefs. The siblings run the company, whose electronically controlled slicers have been "state of the art" since 1963 for sausage, cheese and, for the past 20 years, fish. The Klagenfurt-based company will present the nigiri cutter and other precision equipment for use in fish production and trade at this year's fish international (September 4-6, 2022) at the Bremen Exhibition Center.

Delicate and skillful like a Japanese nigiri chef
"Nigiri sushi is usually cut by hand," Valentina Kuchler explains. While one hand glides over the fish, it provides the other hand with the necessary information and impulses to ensure that the knife passes through the salmon fillet with exactly the right pressure and speed. A machine would have to handle the cut product with corresponding sensitivity, precisely maintain the desired cut thickness, and at the same time cut gently but courageously. Apparently, the "Nigiri Slicer 308Sushi" from the Kuchler siblings succeeds in doing just that - and very quickly, too. The machine produces up to 18,000 nigiri slices per hour fully automatically.

As one of the latest developments from the Klagenfurt-based company, the nigiri cutter exemplifies technology from Kuchler. "We operate in a niche market," says Valentina Kuchler, adding, "Our machines are designed especially for use in companies with lower production volumes and in retail at the point of sale." The machines pack the slices in a multi-layer portion in foil immediately after cutting: "This relieves the sales staff from cutting and packaging so that they can concentrate on serving the customers," Valentina Kuchler explains.

More time for customer service
Even when company founder Fritz Kuchler began tinkering with the high-tech slicing machines in the 1960s, he had recognized the problems that food retail workers had to deal with every day when slicing sausage or cheese. "The work is physically demanding and involves unnatural movements," Valentina Kuchler reports. Her father worked for years to find a solution to the problem - in 1969 he founded "Electronics Constructions" and focused on a fully automatic depositing machine for freshly cut slices. In 1971, he brought it to market as a world first. Not without reason the company is called S.A.M., which is an abbreviation for the Latin words "Sine Auxilio Manus" - without the help of the hand.

S.A.M. Kuchler - always on the pulse of time
Over the years, Fritz Kuchler has continuously developed his machines. "Our father received more than 500 patents. Innovation and quality improvement have always been our focus," says Valentina Kuchler. And so the employees of S.A.M. Kuchler Electronics constantly observe the market, analyze developments and present technical solutions right at the start of a trend: As early as 2018, the Klagenfurt-based company supplied the first online supermarkets with slicing systems that take orders directly from the web store and process them independently until the finished packaged goods are ready.

The guiding theme is the supermarket of the future
Two years ago, the first talking slicer, the first compostable delicatessen packaging and the first ordering terminal for the service counter were launched. This year, the Klagenfurt-based company presented the first slicing and packaging line that automatically produces multilayer MAP packs in the smallest possible space - including slicing, packaging, vacuuming or MAP gassing and price labeling. And Valentina and Constantin Kuchler have long since moved their thoughts further into the future: "What will the supermarket of the future look like?" is their current guiding theme. One thing is clear: Kuchler machines will definitely be in these markets.

"The self-service sector will continue to grow"
The preliminary stage of this future market is already becoming visible. "The self-service sector will continue to grow," Valentina Kuchler is convinced, "but at the same time, customers don't just want to take the goods from the refrigerated shelves, they also want to have a look at production." Thanks to their small footprint, the machines from Klagenfurt find a place near the sales counter, which allows them to "make production visible." Valentina Kuchler also sees the trend towards self-service counters in the fish sector. Machines such as the nigiri slicer should enable suppliers to produce self-service products such as sushi in larger quantities on site in the market.

 

High-tech at the point of sale

fish international…

  • gives traders a platform where they can gain information on what's new in the German market and get a good overview of the fish industry.
  • offers a varied and individual assortment of fish to give traders ideas for achieving better market positioning.
  • presents a concentrated display of machines and technical aids and appliances for SMEs.
  • shows a broad spectrum of counter concepts for fishmongers and mobile fishmongers that is only to be found in Bremen.
  • gives you time to talk to other fish industry members so you can discuss ways to perfect your everyday work.

fish international – that is over 10,000 sqm of exhibition space for around 303 exhibitors from 29 nations in 2020. A good 10,000 visitors from the fishing industry, retail and gastronomy come here to find suppliers, get information and exchange ideas. 85% of the trade visitors are involved in purchasing decisions in their company.

gastro iventGASTRO IVENT, which usually takes place in parallel, will now be organised in January 28-30, 2023 as a Special Edition separately from fish international. In 2024, we plan to return together again.

Die Fischmesse in Deutschland 4.-6. September 2022

 

Statt wie sonst im Februar findet die fish international dies Jahr vom 4.-6. September 2022 statt.

Die fish international ist die einzige Fachmesse für Fisch und Seafood in Deutschland – eine Plattform für den Handel und die Gastronomie. In Bremen informiert sich der Handel über neue Produkte am deutschen Markt und verschafft sich einen Überblick über Neuheiten und Entwicklungen.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
High-Tech am Point-of-Sale

High-Tech am Point-of-Sale

Valentina und Constantin Kuchler entwickeln Präzisionsschneidegerät
Dass die Liebe zu Sushi mittlerweile die ganze Welt erfasst hat, belegt nicht zuletzt die Tatsache, dass sich ein Unternehmen am Alpenrand mit dem perfekten maschinellen Schnitt von Lachsscheiben für Nigiri-Sushi befasst. Valentina Kuchler und ihr Bruder Constantin haben in ihrer Firma S.A.M. Kuchler Electronics GmbH ein Gerät entwickelt, das mindestens so präzise arbeitet wie japanische Nigiri-Kochkünstler. Die Geschwister leiten das Unternehmen, dessen elektronisch gesteuerten Schneidemaschinen seit 1963 für Wurst, Käse und seit 20 Jahren auch für Fisch „State of the art“ sind. Den Nigiri-Schneider und weitere Präzisionsgeräte für den Einsatz in Fischproduktion und -handel wird das Unternehmen aus Klagenfurt auf der diesjährigen fish international (4. bis 6. September 2022) in der Messe Bremen präsentieren.

Feinfühlig und geschickt wie ein japanischer Nigiri-Kochkünstler
„Nigiri-Sushi wird üblicherweise von Hand geschnitten“, erläutert Valentina Kuchler. Während die eine Hand tastend über den Fisch gleitet, gibt sie der schneidenden anderen Hand die notwendigen Informationen und Impulse, die dafür sorgen, dass das Messer mit dem exakt passenden Druck und der richtigen Geschwindigkeit durch das Lachsfilet geht. Eine Maschine müsste entsprechend feinfühlig mit der Schnittware umgehen, präzise die gewünschte Schnittstärke einhalten und zugleich behutsam, aber beherzt schneiden. Offenbar gelingt das dem „Nigiri-Slicer 308Sushi“ der Geschwister Kuchler – und das auch noch sehr schnell. Die Maschine produziert vollautomatisch bis zu 18 000 Nigiri-Scheiben pro Stunde.

Als eine der jüngsten Entwicklungen der Klagenfurter steht der Nigiri-Schneider beispielhaft für Technologie aus dem Haus Kuchler. „Wir sind in einer Nische tätig“, sagt Valentina Kuchler und ergänzt: „Unsere Geräte sind insbesondere für den Einsatz in Betrieben mit geringeren Produktionsmengen und im Einzelhandel am Point-of-Sale konzipiert.“ Die Maschinen verpacken die Scheiben sofort nach dem Schnitt in einer mehrlagigen Portion in Folie: „Dadurch werden die Verkäuferinnen und Verkäufer vom Schneiden und Verpacken entlastet, damit sie sich auf den Service für die Kunden konzentrieren können“, erläutert Valentina Kuchler.

Mehr Zeit für den Kundenservice
Schon als Firmengründer Fritz Kuchler in den 1960er Jahren an den hochtechnisierten Schneidemaschinen zu tüfteln begann, hatte er die Probleme erkannt, mit denen sich die Beschäftigten im Lebensmitteleinzelhandel täglich beim Aufschneiden von Wurst oder Käse herumschlagen müssen. „Die Arbeit ist körperlich belastend und mit unnatürlichen Bewegungsabläufen verbunden“, berichtet Valentina Kuchler. Ihr Vater arbeitete jahrelang an einer Problemlösung – 1969 gründete er „Electronics Constructions“ und konzentrierte sich auf eine vollautomatische Ablegemaschine für frisch geschnittene Scheiben. 1971 brachte er sie als Weltneuheit auf den Markt. Nicht ohne Grund heißt die Firma S.A.M., was als Abkürzung für die lateinischen Worte „Sine Auxilio Manus“ – ohne Hilfe der Hand – steht.

S.A.M. Kuchler – immer am Puls der Zeit
Über die Jahre hat Fritz Kuchler seine Maschinen stetig weiterentwickelt. „Unser Vater hat mehr als 500 Patente erhalten. Innovation und Qualitätsverbesserung standen und stehen bei uns immer im Mittelpunkt“, sagt Valentina Kuchler. Und so beobachten die Mitarbeiter von S.A.M. Kuchler Electronics ständig den Markt, analysieren Entwicklungen und präsentieren technische Lösungen schon zu Beginn eines Trends: Bereits 2018 belieferten die Klagenfurter die ersten Online-Supermärkte mit Aufschnittsystemen, die Bestellungen direkt aus dem Webshop übernehmen und selbstständig bis zur fertig verpackten Ware abarbeiten.

Leitthema ist der Supermarkt der Zukunf
Vor zwei Jahren kamen die erste sprechende Aufschnittmaschine, die erste kompostierbare Feinkostverpackung sowie das erste Bestellterminal für die Bedientheke auf den Markt. In diesem Jahr präsentierten die Klagenfurter die erste Aufschnitt- und Verpackungsstraße, die auf kleinstem Raum automatisch mehrlagige MAP-Packungen produziert – inklusive Schneiden, Verpacken, Vakuumieren oder MAP-Begasen und Preisauszeichnen. Und längst sind Valentina und Constantin Kuchler mit den Gedanken weiter in der Zukunft: „Wie wird der Supermarkt der Zukunft aussehen?“ heißt ihr aktuelles Leitthema. Eins ist klar: Kuchler-Maschinen werden auf jeden Fall in diesen Märkten stehen.

„Der SB-Bereich wird weiter wachsen“
Die Vorstufe dieses Zukunftsmarktes wird bereits sichtbar. „Der SB-Bereich wird weiter wachsen“, ist Valentina Kuchler überzeugt, „aber zugleich möchten die Kunden nicht nur die Ware aus dem Kühlregal nehmen, sondern auch Einblick in die Produktion haben.“ Die Maschinen aus Klagenfurt finden dank ihres geringen Platzbedarfes in der Nähe der Verkaufstheke Platz, dadurch können sie „die Produktion sichtbar machen“. Den Trend zur SB-Theke sieht Valentina Kuchler auch für den Fischbereich. Maschinen wie der Nigiri-Slicer sollen es den Anbietern ermöglichen, SB-Produkte wie Sushi auch in größeren Stückzahlen vor Ort im Markt herzustellen.

 

High-Tech am Point-of-Sale

Die fish international bietet:

  • Fisch und Seafood in einer vielfältigen Produktauswahl: frisch, geräuchert, gefroren, mariniert
  • Verkaufsausstattungen, Thekenkonzepte und Lösungen für den mobilen und stationären Fachhandel
  • Maschinen und technische Hilfsmittel für die Fischverarbeitung
  • Technologie und Zubehör für die Fischzucht

fish international – das sind über 10.000 qm Ausstellungsfläche für rund 303 Aussteller aus 29 Nationen. Hier kommen gut 10.000 Besucher aus der Fischindustrie, dem Einzelhandel und der Gastronomie, um Lieferanten zu finden, sich zu informieren und auszutauschen.

85% der Fachbesucher sind an Einkaufsentscheidungen in ihrem Unternehmen beteiligt.

gastro iventDie GASTRO IVENT, die sonst parallel stattfindet, wird in 2023 als Special Edition unabhängig von der fish international vom 28. bis 30. Januar 2023 veranstaltet. Ab 2024 gehen wir den Weg dann wieder gemeinsam.