Germany's fish fair 4 - 6 September 2022


Instead of February as usual, fish international will take place this year from 4-6 September 2022.

Around 303 exhibitors from 29 nations presented their products in the areas of fish production and processing, fresh fish and delicacies, as well as research and development in February 2020. More than 10,000 visitors from fisheries management, retail and catering took the opportunity for information, networking and exchange.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
Straw instead of plastic!

Straw instead of plastic!

Straw-stupid? No! As a packaging material for refrigerated or even frozen goods, straw is a smart solution because it is sustainable in many ways. "After use, the packaging simply goes on the compost heap or into the green bin and is thus recycled without leaving any residues," says Patricia Eschenlohr, Managing Director of Landpack GmbH. Another big plus: "Straw is available in huge quantities as a natural raw material, and processing it into insulating panels requires significantly less energy than the production of plastic."

Together with her husband Dr Thomas Maier-Eschenlohr, the entrepreneur from near Munich has developed an ecological alternative to environmentally harmful Styrofoam from the agricultural waste product. With the products of her Landpack GmbH, she now wants to convince visitors to fish international of the environmentally friendly substitute for plastic packaging.

Plastic packaging slows growth in online trade
Ordering food online is a trend. But when Patricia Eschenlohr became more intensively involved with this topic as a management consultant a few years ago, she quickly realised: "The fact that plastic packaging is used for shipping scares off many potential customers". Styrofoam, once a popular insulating material, is increasingly coming under criticism: its production is energy-intensive; its disposal is considered problematic. In addition, Styrofoam is increasingly turning up as microplastics in the sea. The Eschenlohrs looked for alternatives: "But there was nothing on the market," Patricia Eschenlohr remembers when her project began a good ten years ago.

The couple finally found the solution in the area around Munich: "Straw is ideal as an insulation material. The residual material from the grain harvest naturally has a high insulating value thanks to its natural stalk structure made of micro-chambers. When processed into boards, it insulates just as well as Styrofoam. The thermal conductivity value of both materials is 0.041 W/mk. The material also became interesting for another reason: "Straw is available in large quantities," says Patricia Eschenlohr. In Germany alone, 30 million tonnes are produced each year during the grain harvest - about 30 per cent of this could be used differently without negative consequences for agriculture.

For two years now, production has been running at full speed
Despite the obviously good starting position, Patricia Eschenlohr and her husband took a considerable risk when they set up their own business with their idea for environmentally friendly refrigerated packaging. Many questions had to be answered, for example: How can the natural material be turned into a hygienically perfect material? How can the straw be processed into durable and compostable sheets without glue? How can the regulations for refrigerated packaging in the food and pharmaceutical industries be met? And last but not least: How can the packaging be produced competitively in large quantities? The couple systematically worked through the questions. The fact that Thomas Maier-Eschenlohr is a mechanical engineer (he did his doctorate on medical robotics) made it easier to find solutions. In 2015, the product and process development was finished and patents were filed; in 2016, a semi-automated pilot production could start for the first customers. In 2017, the purpose-built factory in Allineg near Fürstenfeldbruck was already operating in two shifts. A second factory (also in two-shift operation) has been in operation for two years, and the third production facility is in the planning stage.

Cold chain holds even in standard mail
The principle of shipping coolers is comparatively simple. Their walls are made of specially prepared, pressed straw. The material is coated with a starch-based wrapping. The assembled boxes are suitable for shipping frozen products in combination with dry ice at temperatures of -18°C as well as for refrigerated products in the 4°C range. Even in midsummer, the boxes maintain these temperatures for two to three days in standard postal shipments. Patricia Eschenlohr counts among the other advantages that the base material straw can absorb moisture if, for example, condensation occurs during transport: "In addition, the shock-absorbing properties are very good."

More than 600 existing customers - focus on life science and pharmaceutical industry
In the meantime, Landpack regularly supplies more than 600 existing customers, a considerable proportion of whom come from the life science and pharmaceutical industries as well as laboratory medicine. After initial connections to large companies in the fish industry, Patricia Eschenlohr would like to reach smaller companies in the industry during fish international. Landpack has long been producing on an industrial scale "but we also supply our products in small quantities", the entrepreneur promises. For the fishing industry, the switch from classic Styrofoam to straw boxes could also be a contribution to the climate neutrality increasingly demanded by customers. Per cubic metre, only 20 kWh of electrical energy is consumed in production, whereas the Styrofoam box requires 1050 kWh per cubic metre of material.

Straw instead of plastic!

fish international…

  • gives traders a platform where they can gain information on what's new in the German market and get a good overview of the fish industry.
  • offers a varied and individual assortment of fish to give traders ideas for achieving better market positioning.
  • presents a concentrated display of machines and technical aids and appliances for SMEs.
  • shows a broad spectrum of counter concepts for fishmongers and mobile fishmongers that is only to be found in Bremen.
  • gives you time to talk to other fish industry members so you can discuss ways to perfect your everyday work.

fish international – that is over 10,000 sqm of exhibition space for around 303 exhibitors from 29 nations in 2020. A good 10,000 visitors from the fishing industry, retail and gastronomy come here to find suppliers, get information and exchange ideas. 85% of the trade visitors are involved in purchasing decisions in their company.

gastro iventGASTRO IVENT, which usually takes place in parallel, will now be organised in January 28-30, 2023 as a Special Edition separately from fish international. In 2024, we plan to return together again.

Die Fischmesse in Deutschland 4.-6. September 2022

 

Statt wie sonst im Februar findet die fish international dies Jahr vom 4.-6. September 2022 statt.

Die fish international ist die einzige Fachmesse für Fisch und Seafood in Deutschland – eine Plattform für den Handel und die Gastronomie. In Bremen informiert sich der Handel über neue Produkte am deutschen Markt und verschafft sich einen Überblick über Neuheiten und Entwicklungen.

« Zurück zur Übersicht
Stroh statt Plastik!

Stroh statt Plastik!

Strohdumm? Nein! Als Verpackungsmaterial für gekühlte oder sogar tiefgekühlte Ware ist Stroh eine intelligente Lösung, denn es ist in vielerlei Hinsicht nachhaltig. „Nach dem Gebrauch wandert die Verpackung einfach auf dem Komposthaufen oder in die grüne Tonne und wird so rückstandsfrei wiederverwertet“, sagt Patricia Eschenlohr, Geschäftsführerin der Landpack GmbH. Ein weiterer großer Pluspunkt: „Stroh ist als natürlicher Rohstoff in riesigen Mengen vorhanden, die Verarbeitung zu Isolierplatten benötigt deutlich weniger Energie als die Herstellung von Kunststoff.“

Die Unternehmerin aus der Nähe von München hat gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann Dr. Thomas Maier-Eschenlohr aus dem landwirtschaftlichen Abfallprodukt eine ökologische Alternative zu umweltschädlichem Styropor entwickelt. Mit den Produkten ihrer Landpack GmbH will sie nun auch die Besucherinnen und Besucher der fish international von dem umweltfreundlichen Ersatz für Kunststoff-Verpackungen überzeugen.

Kunststoff-Verpackung bremsen Wachstum im Onlinehandel
Lebensmittel online zu bestellen, liegt im Trend. Doch als sich Patricia Eschenlohr vor einigen Jahren als Unternehmensberaterin intensiver mit diesem Thema beschäftigte, stellte sie schnell fest: „Dass für den Versand Kunststoffverpackungen genutzt werden, schreckt viele potenzielle Interessenten ab.“ Das einst beliebte Isoliermaterial Styropor gerät zunehmend in die Kritik: Die Herstellung ist energieintensiv; die Entsorgung gilt als problematisch. Zudem taucht Styropor zunehmend als Mikroplastik im Meer auf. Die Eschenlohrs suchten nach Alternativen: „Aber auf dem Markt gab es nichts“, erinnert sich Patricia Eschenlohr an den Beginn ihres Projektes vor gut zehn Jahren.

Die Lösung fand das Ehepaar schließlich im Umland Münchens: „Stroh ist als Isolationsmaterial ideal.“ Der Reststoff aus der Getreideernte hat dank seiner natürlichen Halmstruktur aus Mikroammern von Natur aus einen hohen Dämmwert. Zu Platten verarbeitet isoliert es genauso gut wie Styropor. Der Wärmeleitwert beider Materialien liegt bei 0,041 W/mk. Interessant wurde der Stoff zudem aus einem anderen Aspekt: „Stroh ist in großen Mengen verfügbar“, sagt Patricia Eschenlohr. Allein in Deutschland fallen jährlich während der Getreideernte 30 Millionen Tonnen an – etwa 30 Prozent davon könnten ohne negative Folgen für die Landwirtschaft anders genutzt werden.

Seit zwei Jahren läuft die Produktion auf Hochtouren
Trotz der offenkundig guten Ausgangsposition gingen Patricia Eschenlohr und ihr Mann ein beträchtliches Wagnis ein, als sie sich mit ihrer Idee zur umweltfreundlichen Kühlverpackung selbstständig machten. Viele Fragen waren zu klären, beispielsweise: Wie kann aus dem Naturmaterial ein hygienisch einwandfreier Werkstoff werden? Wie gelingt es, das Stroh ohne Kleber zu haltbaren und kompostierbaren Platten zu verarbeiten? Wie können die Bestimmungen für Kühlverpackungen in der Lebensmittel- und Pharmaindustrie erfüllt werden? Und nicht zuletzt: Wie lässt sich die Verpackung in großen Mengen preislich wettbewerbsfähig produzieren? Das Ehepaar arbeitete systematisch die Fragen ab. Dass Thomas Maier-Eschenlohr Maschinenbauingenieur ist (er promovierte über Medizin-Robotik), erleichterte die Lösungsfindung. 2015 war die Produkt- und Verfahrensentwicklung fertig und zu Patenten angemeldet; 2016 konnte eine halbautomatisierte Pilotproduktion für die ersten Kunden starten. 2017 arbeitete das eigens errichtete Werk in Allineg bei Fürstenfeldbruck bereits im Zweischichtbetrieb. Seit zwei Jahren gibt es eine zweite Fabrik (ebenfalls im Zweischichtbetrieb), die dritte Fertigungsstätte ist in Planung.

Kühlkette hält auch im Standard-Postversand
Das Prinzip der Versandkühlboxen ist vergleichsweise einfach. Ihre Wände bestehen aus speziell aufbereitetem, gepresstem Stroh. Das Material ist mit einer Stärke-basierten Umhüllung ummantelt. Die montierten Boxen sind sowohl für den Versand von Tiefkühlprodukten in Kombination mit Trockeneis bei Temperaturen von -18°C als auch für Kühlprodukte im Bereich von 4°C geeignet. Selbst im Hochsommer halten die Kisten diese Temperaturen im Standard-Postversand über zwei bis drei Tage. Zu den weiteren Vorteilen zählt Patricia Eschenlohr, dass das Grundmaterial Stroh Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen kann, wenn beispielsweise während des Transport Kondensfeuchte entsteht: „Außerdem sind die stoßdämpfenden Eigenschaften sehr gut.“

Mehr als 600 Bestandskunden – Schwerpunkt Life-Science- und Pharmaindustrie
Mittlerweile beliefert Landpack regelmäßig mehr als 600 Bestandskunden, ein beträchtlicher Teil kommt aus der Life-Sciene- und Pharma-Industrie sowie aus der Labormedizin. Nach ersten Verbindungen zu großen Unternehmen der Fischwirtschaft möchte Patricia Eschenlohr während der fish international auch kleinere Betriebe der Branche erreichen. Landpack produziert zwar längst im industriellen Maßstab „aber wir liefern unsere Produkte auch in kleinen Mengen“, verspricht die Unternehmerin. Für die Fischwirtschaft könnte der Umstieg von klassischen Styropor- auf Strohboxen auch ein Beitrag zur zunehmend von den Kunden geforderten Klimaneutralität werden. Pro Kubikmeter werden in der Produktion nur 20 kWh elektrischer Energie verbraucht, die Styroporbox erfordert dagegen 1050 kWh pro Kubikmeter Material.

Stroh statt Plastik!

Die fish international bietet:

  • Fisch und Seafood in einer vielfältigen Produktauswahl: frisch, geräuchert, gefroren, mariniert
  • Verkaufsausstattungen, Thekenkonzepte und Lösungen für den mobilen und stationären Fachhandel
  • Maschinen und technische Hilfsmittel für die Fischverarbeitung
  • Technologie und Zubehör für die Fischzucht

fish international – das sind über 10.000 qm Ausstellungsfläche für rund 303 Aussteller aus 29 Nationen. Hier kommen gut 10.000 Besucher aus der Fischindustrie, dem Einzelhandel und der Gastronomie, um Lieferanten zu finden, sich zu informieren und auszutauschen.

85% der Fachbesucher sind an Einkaufsentscheidungen in ihrem Unternehmen beteiligt.

gastro iventDie GASTRO IVENT, die sonst parallel stattfindet, wird in 2023 als Special Edition unabhängig von der fish international vom 28. bis 30. Januar 2023 veranstaltet. Ab 2024 gehen wir den Weg dann wieder gemeinsam.